Skip to content Skip to navigation

Key Disciplines


1. Discipline Basis
The Philosophy discipline at Nanjing Normal University has a long history which can be traced back to the ethics course set by the Department of Political Education of Nanjing Normal College in the 1950s. Founded in 2003, the NNU Philosophy Department began to enroll undergraduates in 2004, obtained the right to grant a doctoral degree of philosophy as a first-level discipline in 2010 and the rights to set up a postdoctoral research program in 2012, thus completed the talent education system ranging from undergraduate, master, PhD to postdoctoral education. The Philosophy Major in the undergraduate program is a school-level high-quality major. Philosophy was listed as one of the key disciplines of Jiangsu Province in the twelfth(2011-2015) and the thirteenth(2016-2020) Five-Year Plan, one of the projects funded by the third term(2018) of the Priority Academic Program Development of Jiangsu Higher Education Institutions(PAPD), and was evaluated as grade B in the fourthChina University Subject Rankings organized by the Ministry of Education of the People’s Republic of China.
2. Team Building
The Department of Philosophy has an excellent teaching and researching team which is well-structured in age and professional title. There are 23 teachers and researchers in all, including 11 professors(containing 1 foreign professor), 7 assistant professors and 5 lecturers, among whom 9 are PhD candidate advisers and 17 are master candidate advisers. Among the facultythere is one that has been awarded a second-level training project of the fourth term of “Top Scientists of Project 333” in Jiangsu Province, one awarded “excellent young core teacher funded by blue project”, one, “Six Talent Peaks”; one, “One Hundred Young Leading Talent Project”; three recognized as excellent core teachers among young and middle-aged faculty, one awarded the “Qinglan Project in NNU”; one brilliant postdoctoral scholar of NNU and 4 visiting scholars at world renowned departments of philosophy.
3. Talent Cultivation
The undergraduate program in Philosophy is a university level honor major. The doctoral candidatescan obtain a degree in Marxist Philosophy, Ethics, Chinese Philosophy and Foreign Philosophy. The master candidates can obtain a degree inMarxist Philosophy, Ethics, Chinese Philosophy, Foreign Philosophy and Philosophy of Science and Technology.
4. International Exchange and Cooperation
In recent years, in order to make international cooperation and exchange more accessible to its staff, the Department of Philosophyencourages its teachers to conduct academic exchangeswith prominent universities abroad and to participate in critical international academic conferences. Up until now, we have signed cooperation contracts with a few well-known international higher education institutions, including the Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, University of Münster and University of Vienna, deepening cooperation through a muti-channel approach, such as sending visiting scholars abroad, launching student exchange projects, translating Chinese academic papers into foreign languages and publishing papers in critical journals.
5. Social Service
Not only does the Department of Philosophy devote itself toself-improvement, butalso it focuses on social service. The School of Public Administration, the superordinate authority of the Department of Philosophy, possesses four provincial- and ministerial-level research bases-the research institute for the Policy Theory of Civil Affairs of the Ministry of Civil Affairs, the Research Center for Socialist Cultural Theory in Jiangsu Province, the Institute of Rural Development in Jiangsu Higher Education Institutions, the Research Center for East Asia International Issues in Jiangsu Higher Education Institutions, a university-level collaborative innovation center on “Marxism Ecological Civilization Theory and Ecological Civilization Practice in Jiangsu Province”, two university-level institutes-Institute for Applied Ethics and Institute for Economic Ethics, five school-level research centers(e.g. Research Center for the Comparative Study between Eastern and Western Philosophy). The School of Public Administration is also affiliated with the Institute for Economic Ethics of the National Center for Ethical Studies of Renmin University which is one of “the hundred key” research bases supported by Ministry of Education of the PRC. Based on the assistance of these research institutions, the Department of Philosophy makes full use of its intelligence to offer suggestions to the government, enterprises and public institutions on the aspects of theoretical innovation, social research and economic development, contributing significantly to the benefit of society.